EDC Knife Opinion Wanted

Greetings All,
I recently purchased a foldable knife for my everyday use. It is D2 tool steel. It is very sharp out of the box.
Anyone have a particular opinion of this material as far as sharpening condition and keeping the edge?
Thanx!!!

1 Like

@Rockmonster,

D2 is an excellent steel that has been around for many years. Keep in mind however that not all D2 is the same, not all knives are the same, and the quality of a knife is more than just the steel. I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering and worked for many years with tool and die makers and machinists who used D2 to great effect.

There are a number of good knives on the market today which use D2. The Medford Praetorian is available with a D2 blade and no one will doubt its quality for example. But I’d hesitate to count on a thirty dollar Chinese eBay knife regardless of the steel.

I haven’t kept up with all the steels available for knives as I’m in software engineering now and spend less time researching metals, but it is my understanding that D2 will not keep its edge as long, but it’s easier to put an edge on it. I saw the same phenomena decade ago when stainless first started being used. It wouldn’t rust like D2, but it was the dickens to sharpen.

My purse EDC knife is a Zero Tolerance 0450CF in S35VN. My pocket carry (when I’m not in a dress) and utility knife is a ZT 0350 in S30V. I didn’t buy either because of the steel. I’ve sharpened both and they do fine. I bought them because they fit my needs, one is a very lightweight slim knife for my EDC purse carry. The other is a heavy “tool” knife.