Would deadly force be justified in this case?

This happened May 29, 2020 in San Jose, on the 101 freeway: video

The perpetrator has some type of blunt object, capable of smashing through the driver’s side window. Considering if the window gave in, a direct impact to the driver’s skull would almost certainly cause grave bodily injury.

Would the driver be privileged in that video to defend themselves with deadly force?

9 Likes

Welcome to the community @Christopher163.
That depends on the law where this is happening. Under Kentucky’s castle doctrine, deadly force would be an option.

7 Likes

I think sometimes we muddy the water unnecessarily or maybe I over simplify things. I’m not a lawyer but my understanding is if you are in fear for your life or serious bodily harm deadly force is an option. I believe we should take every precaution and step necessary to avoid a situation however worrying about whether you’re in your car, house, or just walking down the street could take precious time to sort thru your options.

With the current environment and uptick in these types of attacks this is a great question, that hopefully if someone hasn’t started thinking about what they would do this will provoke those thoughts.

6 Likes

welcome them to the community,train hard and stay safe. from Michigan :grinning:

3 Likes

@Sheepdog556 is right. I don’t know that I would shoot through the window but I would be ready to fire if that window came down. I am really surprised the door window did not shatter all over the place. They usually do shatter into little pieces.

7 Likes

The back window was shattered and the way he quickly quit and walked away, makes me wonder in the driver didn’t show his intent to defend himself.

4 Likes

Might have had protective film on the window… Which at this point, seems like a great idea.

4 Likes

Welcome to the community. Not a lawyer… but in Indiana that would be fearing for your life.

2 Likes