Aside from the Constitutional Carry states, which states have the best Carry laws - in your opinion?
I’ve heard great things about Texas (my dad lives there - it’s much warmer than WI), but I know a lot of people who think Arizona has even better carry laws.
What state do you think has good to great carry laws?
Arkansas with an enhanced carry permit gets me 90% of where I go in day to day life. Plus there is a bill being pushed to lower the cost of a permit
I know this is a generic answer, but, any state that the “no gun zone” sticker doesn’t carry the weight of law. In Illinois they do. In neighboring Missouri they do not. Being asked to leave is one thing. In Illinois, it’s 150 dollars fine the first time, 150 fine and loss of license for 6 months the 2nd time, 3rd time, CLASS 4 FELONY !
I’m a little biased, but Tennessee is pretty good.
In MA if you’re asked to leave and refuse, it’s treated as trespassing.
As a Texas veteran I paid $55 for the LTC class and $20 for the license. The background check and fingerprints cost $10.
My significant other and I got our permits in 16. We took the class $75 ea, rent gun ,buy ammo and pd $155 to get our permit at the DMV. Wasn’t long after that TN dropped the fees to a little of nothing. La which I will be relocating in the fall honors Tn CC permits. I go through all have to put my gun and ammo in different areas of my vehicle. I can’t understand what’s the use of carrying in Al if you have to put your ammo in different area if the vehicle.
When you concealed carry with a permit you have to put the guns and ammo in different places, @Dave3?
When took the class the instructor told us when we go through Al that we would have to put gun & ammo in different places. Al don’t honor Tn laws where other states around us honor Tn permit laws. I may have to look them again as you could do the same & see if we come up with the same understanding.
@Dave3 Sounds like what he was describing is traveling through a state that doesn’t have reciprocity with the state you have your permit through. In that case then yes, the gun has to be unloaded and locked in a case with the ammo seperate, and you can only be traveling though that state, not staying in it.
We’re covered under the Firearms Owners Protection Act, as long as we’re legal to carry in the state we start from and our final destination. Even with that in mind, there are certain states worth avoiding.
Alabama is dead to me then. Guess Florida is off limits now since I have to pass through Al.
I don’t know if that’s true, I’d probably check on that further…
From Alabama law :
Section 13A-11-85Reciprocity for licenses issued in other states.
(a) A person licensed to carry a handgun in any state shall be authorized to carry a handgun in this state. This section shall apply to a license holder from another state only while the license holder is not a resident of this state. A license holder from another state shall carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.
(b) The Attorney General is authorized to enter into reciprocal agreements with other states for the mutual recognition of licenses to carry handguns and shall periodically publish a list of states which recognize licenses issued pursuant to Section 13A-11-75.
(Act 2001-494, p. 862, §1; Act 2013-283, p. 938, §2.)
Yeah, and looking at the reciprocity map, they honor TN.
We usually travel through Al, Ms to La. The USCCA map shows Al & La Carry allowed with my Tn permit & Ms yes carry allowed with my Tn permit & permitless carry. I can see if I didn’t have CC permit and lock it and ammo in different places. What is I came into a situation where I was say robbed and shot but couldn’t Defend myself because My gun was locked up and ammo in the trunk. What good is the permit if you can’t use the gun and may prevented me from being robbed & shot. What do you think Kerryman71
From what I read on 13A-11-73 if you have a cc permit you can carry in car but has to be unloaded. What good is that. I can hear it now, a man was robbed and shot and was a CC permit holder but his gun was unloaded. Sounds like these laws are to protect the criminals and out us law abiding citizens at risk.
@Dave3 The way I’m reading it as if you are legally allowed to possess a handgun but don’t have a CCW permit, you have to have it unloaded and locked in the vehicle. If you do have a CCW permit, you can carry the weapon on you loaded.
This is assuming you have the gun on you. In Massachusetts (maybe elsewhere too) if the gun is not under your control, which is open to interpretation, it has to be locked in a container while you’re driving, but it can be loaded. I always carry mine on me, so it isn’t an issue for me. This is only for people holding an LTC in MA, as they don’t recognize any other states permit.
Exactly, you cannot carry in a car without a CCW unless your in a Constitutional carry state.
For instance, with my concealed carry permit I can travel through IL carrying on my body. However if I leave the vehicle, I must secure the firearm in the vehicle. I cannot carry outside of the car in the state of Illinois because they do not honor my Wisconsin concealed carry.
If I do not have a concealed carry permit, I cannot carry on my body I will have to transport it according to transportation laws. Which means the ammo is not in the gun and is stored separately from the got in the car.
I would double check each state’s requirements before I travel through them.
Read section “b”, kinda clears that up -
Section 13A-11-73Permit to carry pistol in vehicle or concealed on person - Required; possession of unloaded pistol in motor vehicle.
(a) Except on land under his or her control or in his or her own abode or his or her own fixed place of business, no person shall carry a pistol in any vehicle or concealed on or about his or her person without a permit issued under Section 13A-11-75(a)(1) or recognized under Section 13A-11-85.
(b) Except as otherwise prohibited by law, a person legally permitted to possess a pistol, but who does not possess a valid concealed weapon permit, may possess an unloaded pistol in his or her motor vehicle if the pistol is locked in a compartment or container that is in or affixed securely to the vehicle and out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the vehicle.
(Acts 1936, Ex. Sess., No. 82, p. 51; Code 1940, T. 14, §175; Acts 1947, No. 616, p. 463, §3; Acts 1951, No. 784, p. 1378; Acts 1956, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 43, p. 336; Code 1975, §13-6-153; Act 2013-283, §2.)
We need to add a button because I love it when you guys know your laws and can help others with them, @JKetchem!