What kind of training should I be doing?

Hello - I am a new member, who is awaiting his CWP in the state of MD. Also, I am a newbie when it comes to firearms. Now that I have gone to the range every weekend for about a month now and am getting more comfortable with firing the Glock 17/19 (both of which I intend to purchase), what should I be doing when I go to the range to make the best use of my time? I fire about 25-50 rounds each time, as I am still getting used to the sounds I’m making as well as the sounds of the other people firing (Plus, it’s as hot as a bastard at my range :roll_eyes:) I don’t want to just go there and fire down range every time. What kind of drills should I be doing at this stage? Should I get professional training instead? Thanks in advance to all who respond.

8 Likes

I would start out here….
https://training.usconcealedcarry.com/

9 Likes

@Kevin180 Welcome. You are in the best place for “professional” training. :+1:

7 Likes

@Kevin180. Welcome to the community, train hard and stay safe. :smiley:

5 Likes

How can I possibly resist that question? AAARRRMMMYY training sir!
“Stripes” 1981

13 Likes

Welcome!!!

The reality is that you have to come to terms with the decision you have made to carry a gun when your license comes through. The best way to do that is to educate yourself on the laws of your state / locality and the places that you visit. That in itself can be a daunting task given the disparity of rules throughout the U.S.

Punching holes in paper is a way to build “FUN Duh Mentals” in the learning of your primary carry platform and in guns in general (Front sight, Breathing, Trigger Control). The effort is to strive to be “more than proficient”. You want to be comfortable, not only with your platform but also with the burden that you carry as a CWP holder.