Does a disability give you special rights?

I was in an auto accident and it caused a complete burst fracture of my L2 lumbar and disc.
The accident was on 10/11/2014 and I am still in pain but have mobility (can stand for about an hour, sit in a comfortable recliner for about 3 hours), then I have to lay down flat on my back.
I carry a handgun and am extremely paranoid for two reasons.

1. If I feel threatened to the possibility of physical violence, and with the possibility of further injury to my back resulting in confinement in a wheelchair or worse, what should I do even if it is just a physical encounter (especially if I have my Trump 2020 hat on).
  2. I cannot be handcuffed and be put in jail.
4 Likes

@Simjack - welcome to the forums. I think you will find a lot of considered opinion and considerate people here.

*** NONE OF THIS SHOULD BE CONSTRUED AS LEGAL ADVICE. I AM NOT A LAWYER. ***

Having a disability confers no special rights in the circumstances you are noting.

I think you need to look at the reasons one carries a gun. I carry a gun to protect me and my family in the event of the threat of violence and physical harm. I have trained in how to carry, how to shoot, and most importantly, when I “can” (Mossad Ayoob uses the verb “must”) draw my weapon. I am a member of USCCA to ameliorate the legal circumstances surrounding my possible use of a gun to defend myself.

None of will prevent my being handcuffed or put in jail. If I use my weapon, I expect it will be taken from me. I expect I could be detained, and possibly arrested and constrained in handcuffs.

5 Likes

It does not give you special rights, disparity of force is taken into consideration in a self-defense incident. Here are a couple of older blogs about disparity of force, the information is still pretty good.

Does that help or am I off on what you’re asking?

4 Likes