Any holster suggestions I wonder

Hi I’m new here I’m a new ccl carry permit holder in Illinois I’m very new to concealed carry for inside of the waistband! So My question is what are great options for carrying a full size Springfield xdm 3.8! Any suggestions are much appreciated :smiley:

2 Likes

Hmmm… :thinking: It’s gonna be tough… holster is really personal preference, but let’s try…
I’ve never handled Springfield XD-M 3.8, but it is very close with size to my two pistols I’ve been carrying (it’s actually between - 3.6" CZ and 4.25" M&P).
I’ve started with IWB 2 o’clock cross draw, hybrid holster. It worked fine - it was high enough that the muzzle didn’t press my thigh when sitting, additionally muzzle wasn’t pointed at femoral artery.
Then I switched to OWB 3 o’clock because it was much comfortable, “stay at home order” and fall/winter garment allowed to to use it.
Right now I’m looking toward AIWB. I’m still not convinced in 100% to carry this way, but recent reviews read, video watched and statements written by experienced Community Members made me to purchase good quality AIWB holster. That might be the best way to carry such handgun… who knows… :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

3 Likes

What position are you planning to carry or have you decided that yet?

Like Jerzy said, holsters are very personal. I prefer all Kydex. I know the retention is good, and I know the trigger is always 100% covered. Hybrids are a proven design, but I prefer full Kydex.

Do you need it to be tuckable?

I find Vedder to be a well rounded holster. I’ve carried a shield 45 in one at the 3:00 position for about a year. I now carry a full size M&P in a JM Custom in the AIWB position. Those are the two holsters I’ve had the most success with.