Any Advice for Vortex Long Range Class

I have reserved two slots at Vortex’s Long Range shooting classes in August – one session in Michigan and one in Wisconsin. I am bringing a Benelli Lupo in 308 with a Vortex Diamondback 4x16 MRad scope. I’ve spent considerable time (and money) getting an airline worthy case with Kaizen foam ready for the rifle, ammo and gear. I hope I can get it all through the airports at both ends as it weighs a ton and is 52" long.

Has anyone taken one of these Vortex classes? I had a VERY difficult time getting a reservation, so I hope they are popular because they are good. The promise is shooting out to 1,000 yards. I am a raw beginner in long range shooting.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to what they suggest I do, where to stay, gear to bring, gear not to worry about, etc?

3 Likes

Haven’t been to the class so can’t help you there. One thing I suggest is making sure you have photos of the items you pack and photos of the receipts for any items valued at over $100. You’ll need them to file a claim if/when the airline loses your luggage. The airlines also have a maximum limit on what they will reimburse.

Don’t ask how I know this:(

9 Likes

Yes do not drink coffee or anything else with caffeine , and get a good night’s rest before you start your ALSOME ,QUEST , GOOD LUCK , and DO NOT GET DISTRACTED WITH ANY OUTHER THEN WHAT YOU CAME TO DO , your BEST , and you will DO JUST FINE , GOOD LUCK BROTHER :100::us::white_check_mark::owl::feather::feather:

3 Likes

Ryan Cleckner has an excellent beginners guide for long range shooting.

@Craig6 is who I would ask for long range shooting advise. He’s pretty much the authority here as far as I am concerned. I’ve used his advice on optics for my .308