If you are over 21 in NY and don’t have a Pistol Permit you can’t hold a pistol. Ages 14- 21 you can hold/shoot as long as you are with the owner of the gun. Weird private property laws such as farms may allow under 14 to handle/shoot a pistol.
NY is a MAY issue state. Each County sets its rules. Back in 97 the wait was over a year. Why? Because they can. That’s what the Sheriff told me. I got mine in 8 months because I knew the Sheriff and he told me if I had let him know, he’d have pushed it through in 2 months. The current wait time now is 2 months or under. Someone complained and got the time reduced.
You have to give 3 references on your application and pay a fee of $140 in cash only. To my knowledge they don’t call references, they just have to fill out a questionnaire and mail it in. Looking at the app, it’s changed since my wife did hers.
The upside to my County is they do offer up a FOIL OPT-OUT form with the app so people can’t check to see if you own guns or not.
If they give you a permit, you can now go buy a pistol of 10 rounds or less and no threaded barrel.
Keep in mind that this permit has “administrative restrictions” on it. That means you can only carry to/from the range/hunting. Yup, that’s it. You want fully unrestricted like I have? Take a $125 and up County approved 8 hour CCW class, get a certificate of passing. Now you write a nice letter to the judge telling him why you want an unrestricted permit and provide the certificate. I have been told to date that only 1 person has been denied and that was because he told the judge he had to give him the permit.
Now you go pay for a pistol, fill out the background check forms, if you pass, the FFL gives you a receipt. Now you go to the permit office, fill out another form swearing that you have not done anything wrong since the last time you were in the office (I guess the background check isn’t enough and we all know people don’t lie). They put it on your permit with the make/model/serial# (we have pistol registration here) and give you a “coupon” that you take back to the FFL who will now give you said gun. My county is CHEAP so we have paper permits. NYS law dictates that every time you amend your permit that they charge you $3 for the process. They stick the sucker IN A TYPEWRITER to make the changes. NOT KIDDING. I have 3 pages to my permit, it’s awesome.Other counties give you a new credit card style permit. MY county will let you co-register pistols, not all counties do this. So my wife and a few of my friends have all co-registered our pistols just in case.
We have to re-certify our permits every 5 years (NY un-Safe Act)…at no cost at least.
Now keep in mind, if you want to “borrow” a friends pistol and go hunting or to the range, it must be on your permit or you are breaking the law!
If you don’t have your permit on you and have your gun on you, you are breaking the law.
I live close to the PA border so I drove and hour to the nearest full service Police Dept, paid $20 and presented my fully unrestricted NY permit, passed a background check and walked out after 20 minutes with my non-resident PA Permit!
I then jumped online after having my local ID office fill out a Florida fingerprint card. Gave Florida all the paperwork, uploaded a pic and 5 weeks later I got my non-resident Florida Permit.
I am good for a bout 37 states! When I travel I do use the USCCA map and follow the rules for the state I am going to. You have to be sure to read the fine print because a few states do not recognize the non-resident permits the same way (thank you law makers).
And that took me forever to type out!