Veterans preference

I know we have a cross section of vets from all branches of the service. I wanted to know how your state treats you when you apply for a concealed carry license or if this does not apply to your particular state. Is the application processed in an expedited manner or are certain fees waved . Thanks to my brothers and sisters serving now and our veterans. I am also of the opinion that only vets with a honorable discharge (excepting those discharged with a medical condition) should be eligible for these rights.

11 Likes

In CO, I was treated with respect, towards my training, and the interview itself was very professional. I honestly thought it would be harder.

8 Likes

In my area of Southern California, no one seems to care whether I’m a vet or not. This also applies to concealed carry license…no special treatment.

On the other side of the coin though, police, highway patrol, and sheriff’s all treat concealed carry permit holders with much more respect because here in california it takes a person to jump through tons of hoops and pay a ton to get a permit. So, they tend to treat us as one of their own.

9 Likes

I understand what you’re getting at here, but why would our (Veterans) God given rights be any greater or more valuable than non-Veterans?

In other words, I never expect or want special treatment.

10 Likes

No special treatment in VA. @Patrick47 I still like my Lowe’s 10% off discount.

17 Likes

None here in MO although I did not broadcast I was a veteran in the class or the application process. And yes I love the 10% discount at Lowe’s and Home Depot as well!!! LOL

10 Likes

Upstanding US citizen and veteran, do not expect nor do I require any special attention or any affirmative action on my behalf.
The only thing I found was the classes were not required if you presented your DD214! I took the class regardless, it gave me more insight and access to my states statutes.

13 Likes

Understood.

7 Likes