USCCA instruction courses VS. NRA instruction courses

Hi everyone. I am new to USCCA and am interested in becoming a certified Pistol instructor. I have reviewed the USCCA instruction program and am very impressed with what it offers. I have also looked at the NRA training page and am wondering what the differences are in instructor training between USCCA and the NRA courses. Any insight to the differences and why someone may choose one or the other would be greatly aprreciated.

Thx and stay safe,

Tommy

3 Likes

Hi @Redleg6! I’m a bit partial to the USCCA programs, so I’ll let others answer it! @Aaron25, @SKIdaho, @FizBin, @Jeff748, @Mike_T, @JustinK, @F.F.T, @Jeff4 - can you all give Redleg6 some feedback?

7 Likes

I am certified through the NRA for Basic Pistol and CCW and USCCA CCHD. There are some similarities but some major differences in the programs, but to begin I’ll go through the process of getting started through the NRA as it’s a little different than the USCCA.

If you go through the NRA you will have to start with Basic Pistol (BOPS) before you can progress to CCW, Personal Protection Inside/Outside the Home, or Defensive Pistol. BOPs and CCW are the two most attended NRA courses and are good for their intended purpose. BOPs is focused on safety and basic pistol shooting fundamentals and in my opinion is more targeted at the beginner. CCW is a little more advanced, it requires draw and fire and digs much deeper into actually carrying a firearm for self defense. NRA CCW is a very good class and very much worth taking.

USCCA vs. NRA Basic Pistol