Shotgun help, pls?

hello, brand newbie here. just joined yesterday. have a question about my Remington 1100 shotgun that I’m hoping someone can offer ideas.

I broke it down to clean it. now, when I mount the barrel up to the receiver & slide it home, the trigger will not pull, nor (cause the trigger isn’t moving I’m sure) will the hammer fall.
if I dismount the barrel off the receiver, works just fine. action opens & closes without issue, trigger pulls, click, hammer falls - everything is fine. but remount the barrel and something is getting in the way of allowing the trigger or the hammer to move.
anyone have any ideas on this you’d like to share with a noob?
thanks in advance.

1 Like

@Fizbin Any ideas. :thinking:

@John586 Welcome to the community. :+1:

1 Like

Don’t run semiauto shotguns but try google, lotsa of info there

2 Likes

Also just for laughs check the safety

1 Like

Check your manual and make sure the seals are on properly. Not sure what they are called, gas rings? They go on the mag tube, have a rubber o ring. I had a 1100 long ago, and this popped into my mind…

1 Like

I would go with David-65 advice. I’m sure there are some good videos on takedown, cleaning, and reassembly of the 1100. You probably spot where the problem is located.

1 Like

The 1100 uses O-rings, and they do have to be assembled correctly. Check youtube. Also, if the barrel is not on correctly, the bolt will not go into battery, and that will cause what you are describing too. Check the carrier too. If the barrel can go in without the bolt, and the trigger pulls, there is a pointer too.

2 Likes

Hey,
Sorry for reading this late, yes I agree and have my money on: MarkinMT answer. I have an 1187 and 870, the 870 had no click yesterday at Church Gun Club. I just put a new harness on it and the top part of on the extension tube would not let the 870 fully cycle, so the I had the same symptoms with that shotgun.

2 Likes

This is what makes our community great. :+1:

2 Likes