San Diego County CCW

I have a partner in SD county, I eventually plan to move there, but that could be years away. Does anyone here know if they are likely to allow my application and approve it for a CCW in the county or will I absolutely have to wait until I am a resident/employee in the county?

4 Likes

Hello and welcome @Skylar2
I’m not in CA but there are a few here that may be able to chime in on that minefield.
@BeanCounter

4 Likes

Welcome

2 Likes

My guess is No Way, you’re talking about California where every question concerning a firearm is answered with “No”.

5 Likes

I’m from California and as far as I know you have to reside in the county where you are applying for CCW. I used to live in San Bernardino County and it takes for ever to get a CCW ( if you are lucky to get it ) and it’s expensive.

6 Likes

Just assume that in California, especially years in the future, you won’t be able to own a firearm for self defense. Any more expectation than that and, well, I’d expect to be disappointed

Even if you have a county willing to issue a CCW, I wouldn’t expect any chance at all unless you are currently a resident of that county. Or politically connected enough.

The only way to know for sure is to reach out to the county issuing authority and ask them, though.

5 Likes

I used to live in CA and had my CCW permit there for several years. The CCW permit is issued by the sheriff of the county in which you live. You have to show proof of residence in that county before one will be issued. No way around that.

5 Likes

Welcome aboard to @Skylar2 and @Robert1433

2 Likes

Welcome to the Community!

The Sheriff’s Office is always a great place to start.

“All new applicants must demonstrate they are residents of San Diego County.”

https://www.sdsheriff.gov/i-want-to/get-a-permit-or-license/regulatory-licenses-and-fees/concealed-weapons-license

3 Likes

Welcome to the community @Skylar2 and @Robert1433