Run, Hide, or Fight

I saw a Proving Ground where the CC person was the only one with a gun when a shooter started to shoot others in a store (as an example). The CC person chose to escape the store to remain safe but left the others inside to possibly be shot. Is it legal to defend the others if you have a safe way out?

I’m new at this so please advise and give me your opinions. I know laws vary state to state but ethically, I am not sure what to do or what I would do. Not sure I’d run from the scene if I could help end the shooting.

Thanks everyone…

6 Likes

It probably depends on the state in which you live. In GA deadly force may be used to protect a third party. “a person is justified in using force which is intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm only if he or she reasonably believes that such force is necessary to prevent death or great bodily injury to himself or herself or a third person or to prevent the commission of a forcible felony.” Ga code 16-3-21

2 Likes

You are right with respect to laws caring by state. In Kentucky, where I live, was a LEO and where I practice law, allows us to use force to defense ourselves and others to the extent the others would be allowed to use force. So here, it is legal, ethical and moral to use force to protect others.
However, what you do depends on you. You are not legally obligated to protect others in most situations. It is a very personal decision whether, in a situation like you described, you retreat and be a good witness, or you engage the aggressor and put yourself at risk.

14 Likes

Im trying to find out about Massachusetts. Thanks Robert…

3 Likes

Mike, do you know about Mass laws?

3 Likes

There you go Wanda. :+1:

Self-Defense