Magazine capacity - new with gun 17 round exceeds Colorado limits

Hello All. I’m new to the gun world so please don’t assume I should know this. I’m on a steep learning curve right now.

I just bought my first handgun, a Sig Sauer P320. It came with two 17 round magazines. I live in Colorado which has a 15 round magazine limt. My question is ---- Do I need replace the two mags I have with 15 round mags to stay legal?

I don’t know when or where anyone would examine my magzines. I’m guessing it would only be if I have to interact with law enforcement or possibly in a training class. If it happens, am I legal since these came with the gun in the original box.

Thanks.
Greg

10 Likes

Welcome to the Community @Greg153. It’s great to have you with us.

I would suggest purchasing 15-round magazines, so you don’t find yourself in violation of the magazine limit in Colorado. I understand that it can be a pain, especially since the 17-round magazines came with the firearm, but this could keep you from having to deal with any unwanted attention or legal issues.

Here is a link directly to the 15-round magazines that are sold by Sig Sauer. If you are an active USCCA Member, be sure to utilize the available discount code that Sig Sauer offers, which can be located in your Member Dashboard, under the Perks & Discounts tab.

8 Likes

Welcome to the community @Greg153

Did you buy these from a licensed gun store? It is my understanding that it is illegal to sell or purchase magazines with more than a 15 round capacity in CO unless things changed recently. If you bought them from a licensed dealer I would ask if they can supply lower capacity mags or reducing plugs for the mags you have.

I have read that some sheriffs departments have said they won’t enforce this law but I wouldn’t count on that. The penalty for breaking this law includes jail time. If you ever need to defend yourself you want to make sure you have done everything by the book.

8 Likes