Lasers on firearms as deterrence, as a primary sighting system or as a territory backup sighting system?

So I am a retired cop and on my service weapon I had a combo flashlight/laser on it. Now, I have a light/laser combo on an AR-15 that I essentially set up for home defense. One of the things I found as an officer was that in situations that were escalating, simply putting a laser on someone’s chest usually had a debilitating affect on the aggressor. It didn’t take them being a genius to realize that they knew if they continued the aggression, EXACTLY where the bullet was going to hit them.

My AR-15 has a green dot laser on it and I bought this feature specifically for the same reason. I have to be honest, I was old school brought up on iron sites starting as a cop in the early 90’s. My AR has a Sig Romeo 5 Red Dot scope on it and would be my primary sight, but I do have flip ups on the rifle in case the battery or sight failed. To me, the laser is my territory backup sight. It is essentially there in case all else fails, but as a way to intimidate someone threatening me or my family and almost like a rattle snake letting them know that I AM lethal if I need to be.

So here is my question. For those that do have the laser on a weapon, either handgun or rifle, do you plan on utilizing it in a self defense situation as your primary sight picture, or do you feel the deterrence of someone seeing a laser on them is enough to stop the threat? I mean, I pray I never have to shoot a home invader, so if I can deter their actions when we meet, that would be the ideal outcome although I am still prepared if I HAVE to react.