Real SD Moment is <2seconds?

I’m new to the CCW community and to USCCA; a move I decided to make given the defund the police and other policies of the current political party. What I’ve learned so far in the great USCCA training leads me to see that a “real” self defense moment, one that really justifies use of deadly force, is likely to allow less than 2 seconds to OBSERVE the threat coming at you (inside of 7 yards and closing fast), DECIDE this is truly a deadly threat, and ACT accordingly. Is it more or less likely that one will have the time to achieve the stance, draw, grip, raise, sights, trigger sequence while (most importantly) knowing FOR SURE what is beyond the threat if you miss??

So this thread is about guns and gear. Everyone has a favorite firearm. Don’t want to get into those comparisons. My real question is about sights. It occurs to me that it is more likely that I will NOT have the time to achieve correct (safe) aim using iron sights raised to eye level. Going with a laser sight would help ensure accurate aim. But will I have the TIME to fumble around looking for the ON button on the way up from the draw? A few companies offer “Instant On” lasers. Hmmm.

So I ask the forum your thoughts on this. At the end of the day, and assuming we are not all professional law enforcement folks that train every day all day, wouldn’t Instant On laser sights be the “best overall” way for the rest of us mere mortals to maximize our accuracy, and the safety of others beyond, in a true (<2seconds) self defense moment, coming from any direction???

Thoughts welcome.

5 Likes

Marksmanship matters often-enough. We see it plenty often in real life situations, such as on the active self protection YouTube channel, and in real life scenarios analyzed on the USCCA Protector Academy, for a couple examples.