Red Dot -vs- Laser

I’m new to concealed carry. Still trying to determine my optimal EDC. I started with a P365 added a Hollosun Red Dot. I practice at the range a lot, but find that dot acquisition it’s slow for the first shot. Also, the P365 is a little small in my hands, but I feel im getting pretty good with it.

I just purchased an S&W M&P shield with integral Cremson Trace green laser. Thus far I find Target acquisition and repeated shots much faster, at least on the Range.

I seldom see anyone else shooting with a laser, and I noticed uscca has many courses regarding red dots but nothing about lasers.

I would like to hear the opinions of others on use of lasers verse red dots.

7 Likes

Only you can decide what works for you best. It took me a long time trying and training with both or should I say all three, iron sights also.
Good luck and keep up your efforts.

8 Likes

Red dot.

The red dot sights are not limited regarding distance/range, bright lighting, tracing right back to you (especially in smoke/fog/etc), etc, have better battery life (always on for a year or for holosun essentially always on for several years), and function very similarly to iron sights so that training and practice can be far more consistent. And even though they are extremely reliable and durable (I’ve had more irons fail than red dots on pistols…), using a red dot with backup iron sights means that , well, the backup irons are right there if need be, where you are already looking.

Look around at any competition, any named or accomplished competitor, any mil or LE agency or team, and you’re going to see red dot sights all over…but you’ll be hard pressed to find many visible lasers on handguns

8 Likes

Welcome to the family @Christopher405 and you are in the right place at the right time.

3 Likes

Why not both & irons. Cowitness irons & red dot. A laser for shorter work. Always train with irons as red dots & lasers can break or malfunction.

5 Likes