Kydex vs leather holsters and gun lights

I have been using IWB and OWB Kydex holsters for several years now and have several brands. Two of my sidearms have lights on them and my EDC is a G-19 with an OLight on it. Finding Kydex holsters that can be made for the light is easy enough. Before going further I’ve read others and their issues with Kydex. I am a big guy and I have found I can wear both the OWB and IWB with practically no comfort issues at all. As a matter of fact the wife and I did a cross country drive in Dec and I never failed to wear the OWB on this drive with Kydex. That aside it is also no secret that Kydex has no real safety retention to it whatsoever. One company tried to tell me that you just tightened down the screws on the holster for a more snug fit. When I hinted he may not understand what the word retention means he took offense to this. When I started in LE in 79 our holster for our revolvers had a strap and nothing else. By the time I retired our holsters had retention ability that you had better practice on if you wanted to be able to draw quickly. But finding a leather holster now for my IWB/OWB carry conceal seems to be falling short of one that is made for a weapon and its light. Has anyone found something in this style that is well made and functional? I’d like some retention capability but I am not expecting to see what I had in my duty gear.

Alien gear have some, and safariland.

You can order it here https://aliengearholsters.com/rapid-force-duty-holster.html.html

Not sure this as a concealed holster will work very well. IWB has to be tough and OWB is going to imprint too much.

You don’t really need active retention if you’re conceal carrying. Because if it’s concealed nobody will see it. Mise well learn what this guy is teaching.

1 Like