Interview with Alec Baldwin. Thoughts?

I watched the Alec Baldwin interview on NBC News tonight. I’ve been following this case, as I’m sure a lot of others have been. Basically, he claims that it’s not his fault that a handgun in his hand accidentally killed someone, and wounded someone else, on the movie set where he was lead actor (and producer). His explanation was that he was told that the weapon was not loaded, and his finger was not on the trigger. However, he did admit to pointing the gun in the direction of other people, as well as manipulating the hammer while rehearsed his “drawing technique”.
I obviously don’t know all of the facts in this case, but it appears that the firearms they were using on this movie were older, single action revolvers. I’m not an expert on these, but I know that a lot of older revolvers do not have a transfer bar, so the hammer could possibly strike the firing pin accidentally.
I’m not saying that Alec is totally to blame, since there should be no reason for a live round to be on a movie set. There were obviously other failures here, and it is a terribly tragic event. But it seems like at least 2 of the “Rules of Firearms Safety” were violated here: (1) Always treat a firearm as if it is loaded, and (2) Always point your firearm in a safe direction. IMHO, I don’t think that “real” firearms have a place on a movie set. There are just so many variables in this type of scenario that make it so complex, and the CGI effects that can be done now make it unnecessary.
Of course, just my opinion. Thoughts?

13 Likes

Simply stated, my opinion is that Baldwin is a liar.

As for real firearms being used for props, all they really need to do is remove firing pins, 100%, at least that’s my opinion. No firing pin, no primer strike, no powder ignition, no pressure pushing a bullet out of the barrel.