I'm a new cop...do I need USCCA?

I’ve been a USCCA member for several years since getting my CCW permit. But I just became a cop and don’t have or need the CCW permit any more. Is there any reason I still need USCCA membership for legal protection?

4 Likes

I would think so, because you can still act in self-defense as a private citizen. That’s a much different situation than acting as a police officer. Your police training may or may not apply in the same way, and your department may or may not have your back.

2 Likes

If it wasn’t affecting my finances I’d keep it, especially in today’s climate. You can’t have too much coverage.

Stay safe…

4 Likes

Congratulations @Paul155!!

Your USCCA Membership would be able to assist you when you are not required to carry for work. I would suggest looking at what the department you work for covers as far as the use of a firearm and if you have to carry when you’re not at work.

No matter what, you are VERY welcome to stay in the USCCA Community!

Stay safe @Paul155!!

4 Likes

I was always under the impression that once you are a law enforcement officer, you are never “off” duty. So in that sense you are never a civilian. I could be wrong but it could make a difference depending on what state you are serving in.
However, in today’s environment and the fact you could be out of a job in weeks as soon as the police force is defunded, I would keep any coverage you have and USCCA is the best for my money.

2 Likes

I’m with @Sheepdog556, “You can’t have too much coverage.”

But yeah, you need something for your private life anyway…

Here is something you might not be knowledgeable of,

USCCA would cover your wife, kids, whomever, until out the door…

I am right, right [haha] @Dawn? Are is it property line…

Regardless, whatever you decide in your best interest, hope you stay here on the community @Paul155! && Thank you for what you do professionally.

2 Likes