Home made holsters

Who else makes their own holsters? Currently wearing this one just for fun—it’s actually very comfortable and has good retention. My Harley Holster.

22 Likes

That is an awesome looking holster brother @Gary263

6 Likes

Thanks. I’ve made about a dozen holsters over the years. Mostly for myself, some for friends.

4 Likes

Pretty awesome, I don’t have the dexterity for that anymore!

But on the funnier side, I’ve been making mine for 150 years, come May!

Please don’t be offended, I truly appreciate an artisan!
If we don’t laugh at least once a day, we’re going to lose it!

11 Likes

Nice LEVI holster! :laughing:

6 Likes

Smart. You probably save a lot on costs compared to buying outright, I imagine.

4 Likes

You have that thing that Ma Nature gave me a Zero Dose of, Artistic Abilities. I love the simplicity. All of my holsters are leather, Muddy River Tactical.

6 Likes

Nice job. Does the extra leather piece with the skull help with retention, or just for detail? I’ve dabbled in making holsters also. this one is my favorite

Here’s a few of the others

Mags also

But I couldn’t stop there

13 Likes

Nice work. Happy to see another leatherworker here.

The extra piece of leather helps hold the holster open for easier gun return. Stops it from collapsing inwards.

6 Likes

A couple more…

10 Likes

Great topic. I’m starting down that road and like the inspiration here. I’ve been getting set up to make hybrid holsters; leather & kydex. The last piece is learning how to stitch the leather by hand and acquire the tools for that.

With every holster I’ve tried, there’s always one or more things I don’t like about it. But I can “fix” that if I make my own.

How do you treat the leather that goes against skin/clothing? I’m thinking especially of warmer days when sweat might be involved. How do you prevent the leather from staining clothing or skin?

4 Likes