Good 1911

I am on the fence about a good EDC 1911 I am a navy veteran and I love the way the 1911 feels and shoots. Do y’all recommend a high end like Kimber or a lower end like Tisas of Rock Island. I have read reviews. Just not sure which for an Every day carry.

8 Likes

I’m not much of a 1911 guy, but…Kimber is not high end.

I’m targeting a Dan Wesson personally for a somewhat-high-end at some point.

For an inexpensive that gets good reviews, that tisas is $300 today at PSA

https://palmettostatearmory.com/sds-imports-45-acp-semi-automatic-pistol-blk-1911a1.html

6 Likes

Yes that Tisas for 300 is the one I was talking about. Just trying to make up my mind on that one or the Kimber I have shot a few time which is the Shadow Ghost LW. Plus my budget doesn’t allow for anything over 1000 right now

2 Likes

I own a full size and a compact, both Rock Island Armory. Can’t go wrong with the brand if you’re on a budget.
Can’t comment on the Tisas because Kalifornia.

6 Likes

Welcome to the community @Mark815

Good luck on your 1911 hunt. I’d like to get one someday myself but am leaning towards the double stack 9mm versions.

5 Likes

I have looked at a couple of the 9 mm versions but I already have a 9mm and right now I am just trying to get different calibers before I start doubling up on them. After I get a 1911 my next pistol will be a revolver.

3 Likes

I have had mine for 5 years, a set of wood grips and some polishing and it has run flawlessly. I see it has gone up $200.00 since I got mine.

Taurus 1911 (taurususa.com)

TAURUS 1911

45 ACP Stainless Full

MSRP $: 863.33

6 Likes

Yes I have seen a couple Rock Islands and from what I have seen Tisas are just as good.

2 Likes

Kimber Fan Here. Can’t go wrong with a Kimber.

8 Likes

That’s my opinion as well just having a hard time trying to fit that much into the budget I guess I should’ve asked what people thought about a $300 1911 as an EDC hahah

4 Likes

Good luck with whatever you decide.

5 Likes