First time gun owner

Hey everybody,

This is my first time posting in the community… I just became a member.

I just bought my first gun. Smith & Wesson M&P 380 EZ Shield. I’m also just getting used to saying what it is as well, so please excuse if that was not said right.

I’m glad there’s a community to help learn some stuff also.

The hubby, Taurus G2C 9mm, and I just went to the CCW class and I got to shoot with the Smith & Wesson I chose as my choice carry and made all 8 shots in a nice cluster, 11 feet away, and in the target. Woo hoo, go me.

Do any of you have any first time advice?

Thanks

35 Likes

Your in a great place to get started and find resources to learn, Regular practice and familiarity with your fire arm are starting points, as well as the practices and mindset , Best of luck and welcome to the community!

9 Likes

Welcome. The time spent here can be very informative and rewarding.

8 Likes

Thanks,

I’ve been watching the videos and learning a lot. Luckily the hubby has been around guns his whole life so he is helping me understand the lingo. Also, the CCW class was super helpful in knowing types of bullets and how to handle the firearm.

11 Likes

Welcome to your new family. If you have questions there are very knowledgeable people in this forum.

7 Likes

The one piece of advice I will give is never stop learning and practicing. Shoot as much as you can and train as often as possible.

19 Likes

Welcome. Even if you are unable to get a lot of range time in. Dry fire constantly. Perfect practice leads to perfection when you need it.

10 Likes

Welcome to the family, the more we grow the more we learn from each other. We all can’t say it enough practice and safety.

6 Likes

Know your firearm and be fully comfortable with it.

Watch every video with your firearm you can find on YouTube.

Then learn and practice. Dry fire and live fire. Take classes, be better shooter each month.

12 Likes

Enjoy it.