Firefighter/EMT - Armed Ambulance Personnel Your Thoughts?

I’m a volunteer FF/EMT and business owner. We’ve had medics and EMT’s getting robbed and killed for pain meds in ambulances with no means to defend our apparatus/ambos. It’s even gotten as bad as stations getting robbed for equipment/medication seekers here in the MD are. What are your thoughts on having one designated person on each apparatus licensed to carry to defend against this growing issue?

29 Likes

That’s a new twist on it. Robbing the Fireman for drugs.

9 Likes

@KMO Welcome to the community! Have your Units discussed this with your Chiefs/Supervisors? This would be great if approved with the firearms training, and making changes in the company policies that cover prohibited firearms on the premises. If 39 states have the approval for teachers to qualify for conceal carry in schools, it should work for you first responders (FF/EMT) as well. First we all need to band together and fight for our 2A, and get rid of the gun control agenda. If all weapons are banned, how will we defend ourselves. Vote out this Administration! This gun control agenda does nothing to curve criminal violence, and only targets law abiding citizens. AS we all know, criminals DON’T OBEY the LAWS! Biden wants total civilian disarmament, and criminals will always, illegally, get firearms. So Unconstitutional.

9 Likes

If the police/law enforcement are not along with you on calls even after your problems, I’d check your state’s laws and make informed decisions.
In my personal opinion, meds should always be stored in locked, secured containers permanently attached to the ambulance/firetruck.
My father was a country doctor and carried certain meds in his little black case to temporarily ease immediate pain but, not enough to be worth crackheads, dopers to risk the definite penalties from local police, sheriff’s deputies and rangers for assaulting one of the few house call making doctor’s in the county.