CPL License in multiple states

I am a resident of and CPL holder in Michigan, and I am sure that many of you have heard of the ATF’s recent decision to disallow the Michigan CPL as a valid background check for the purchase of firearms. This has me worried that as states evaluate reciprocity, as this decision highlights possible deficiencies in the Michigan CPL process. As such, it has me wondering about getting a CPL in a state as a non-resident so that I can be confident in carrying as I travel. Does anyone have any experience with getting a non-resident CPL? I say that knowing that every state’s laws are different.

Welcome to the Community, @Brian139! Wisconsin - and many other states - have never allowed the CPL as a replacement for a background check so I don’t think it’s anything about the deficiency of the permit. It’s more about what “you” may have done in the time you since you’ve received your permit, than the actual permit process itself.

Having other non-resident permits is helpful when you travel. Two of the more popular are Florida and Utah. Here are the links to the laws of those states and the details about how to get a non-resident permit in those states:

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/ut-gun-laws/

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/fl-gun-laws/

Be sure to check if there are any restrictions for the permits in other states (for example some states don’t honor a Utah non-resident permits the same the would honor a Utah resident permit).

Hope this helps!

@Brian139 - I added the Florida nonresident license which added several more states to my travel list. It was easy to do and I did everything by mail. You can get their form on line.
I also understand that Utah is a good non-resident license to get. It will also add a few extra states to your list of carry states.