Clean, or Lots of Stuff

I see lots of people glamourizing their EDC with lots of crap like lights, lasers, optics…etc. They put on special mag well flares, use fancy base plates, threaded barrels, after market triggers, upgraded guide rods, and spring packages… I mean the list is endless.

But, something in my head says… Look, the manufacturer went through a lot of trouble to design and test this. I’m not an engineer. I want it to work when it has to work, no questions asked. I’ve seen people say as much, to basically leave your EDC alone, carry it as issued… .don’t mess with it.

What is the popular opinion here? My current EDC is a Canik TP9sc, and it came with the optic… but that was factory installed, and I love shooting with an RMR… it seriously helps with older eyes. I’m sure this is going to come down to personal preference, but its got the hallmarks of a nice online debate. Let me know what you think.

Greg / Orlando Fl

5 Likes

You are right, it is personnel preference, for me my EDC has nothing on it as far as the above mentioned and never will, I don’t believe in putting all that fancy stuff on a firearm rifle or pistol, but if that is what people want to do, it’s their choice, go for it.

5 Likes

I have a removable light on mine and I changed the fixed rear sight to an adjustable because the origional shot 3ins. high at 25yds. and 5 to 6 at 50yds. I consider both essential for improved shooting. :+1:

2 Likes

Yeap, as already mentioned - all is about personal preferences.
For me EDC has to be reliable AND simple. More fancy stuff - more potential issues.

Reliable should be out of the box, however it depends on manufacturer… :zipper_mouth_face:
I’ve owned few handguns before I’ve found the perfect one.

Your CanikTP9 shouldn’t need anything… it’s so great by default. I’ve never shot it, but this is the same as my PPQ… and that one was great without any additions. Both are perfectly designed.