Carrying to a doctors office

I’m new to conceal carrying and I have a few doctor appointments coming up and was wondering do you guys carry to the doctors? And if you do what do you do with your gun during X-rays, ultrasounds, etc?

4 Likes

I dont bring mine in, ever. Simply due to metal detectors at some facilities. What if during your checkup, the doc needs to put a stethoscope to your belly, or feel your belly for swelling? Both of which are common. I say leave it locked in the car, if that’s a legal option for you. Good luck, and glad to have you here!

5 Likes

I lock mine up in the car. I deholster as well. I don’t want to scare the crap out of the nice folks at the doctor’s office. I like them very much.

6 Likes

Welcome to the USCCA forum, @Jeremy74.
Are you talking a large hospital and several doctors or are you talking your primary physician?

When I visit my doc, we usually talk guns and if one of us has a new carry, the other demands to check it out.
That’s Ozark Mountain life for ya! :wink:

11 Likes

Well my appointments are at a small office just for my X-rays but I’m still curious if I should carry during normal check ups also

1 Like

Talk to your doc. He may be a gun guy!
Be careful, though. If you don’t know him well and he isn’t, some locales allow docs to put things in your file that a gun owner wouldn’t approve of.
I’ve known my doc for years and we shoot together often.
Heck, we were once on a night mountain bike ride when I wrecked and tore open the web of my left hand. We went to his office (after hours) and he stitched it right up. Stopped by his house on the way home for a beer or three.

You just have to know who you’re dealing with. Location plays a big part, also.

3 Likes