can someone give me some tips to handgun shooting

I always shoot low and left and I highly doubt I will be able to be effective when it comes to defending myself with the handgun(I shot from 5, 10 and 15 yards). the shot that hit the center was actually my first shot and hit where I was aiming, then I just started shooting low for some reason without changing the way I manipulate my trigger

7 Likes

9 Likes

Is your handgun a revolver or semi-auto pistol? What caliber is your handgun? Make sure you have a good, strong, firm hand grip of the handgun, including if you’re using a second support hand grip as well, while PRESSING the trigger at each shot placement. Make sure you’re using ear, and eye protection for safety.

3 Likes

Glock 19

3 Likes

“Can someone give me some tips to handgun shooting”

Practice, practice, practice! Work on consistent (reproducible) trigger pull while maintaining sights on target. Practice will build “muscle memory”.

6 Likes

Are you a USCCA member? There are several courses, videos, and Qualifications in the Protector Academy on their website to help.

There is also

Tip: If you call and order over the phone (or chat), you might be able to get a discount on some of the educational books.

There is a lot to handgun marksmanship, but here is the bottom line for each individual shot
Put the front sight where you want to hit, and press the trigger without moving the front sight. For that shot
that’s it.

8 Likes

The best drill for nearly everyone:

5 Likes

You need to isolate your finger pull to only involve your trigger finger and not your whole hand when shooting.

Maintain a good sight picture while shooting.

Stay focused on your front sight

Then you may have a 6 O’clock sight set-up or dead center set-up on your sights. With yours I believe you have dead center sights. So, you need to align the top of your sights with the top of your target aligning the dots on the center of your target.

I hope this information will help!