Apartment/Dorm Home Security

A lot of us have lived in an apartment or dorm at some time in our lives. There are a lot of benefits (no yardwork/snow shoveling) and some detractors (noisy/nosy neighbors). Having good neighbors is always helpful for your security, as is living a few stories up with a locked entry door.

What things did you do to help secure your apartment or dorm?

5 Likes

When I was an undergrad, I worked as night manager (mostly security) for my dorm. I think one should really look up the crime rate specifically on campus for a lot of schools when planning on housing for their kids. Compared to the city it was in (the murder capital of the US at the time), the rape rate was much higher (and according to the reports, were usually by the ā€˜safe friendsā€™ instead of someone lurking in the shadows), but other violent crimes were low. Theft was also very high.

Speaking specifically of the dorms (around campus had a different security network), personal security could be complicated as many people had room mates, and some multiple roommates. Getting to know your neighbors helped (like a community watch) as well as the Resident Assistant for your area (hence the weekly get-togethers), knowing both the dorm emergency number/pager as well as the police was important. Another factor that helped was how close your room was to the security office/desk, how isolated that area of the dorms was (sometimes good sometimes bad), and how close random entries/exits were to the outside.