5.7x28 … FN 5.7 vs Ruger 5.7

Curious on people’s takes/opinions/experiences with one or both of these firearms, and/or with 5.7x28 ammo itself. I have no experience with.

I’ve been watching videos online regarding the two firearms, the biggest take from what I have seen have been the sight comparisons.

I’m seeking further information/experiences with one or both firearms, & the 5.7 caliber itself.

Thank you for your time.

2 Likes

No personal experience here either. Had an itching for the Ruger about 2 years ago, but would have needed ammo, and seeing as I had 8k of 9mm and 5k of .45 acp already I thought better. These days I look at 5.7x 28 at $1 a round and up for the 40 grain, the 27 grain which was the main draw of that gun imo no longer being available, and feel it’s not a round I wish to pursue. My match grade .308 cost me less that that, goes 500 fps faster, weighs 4x as much and gets me on paper at far greater distances than I can even see with a pistol.
Not sure if you saw the vid comparing the Ruger 5.7 to the kel-tec .22wmr pistol. Had me thinking kel-tec, ammo is 1/3 the price now, ballistics somewhat similar iirc. Good vid, worth looking for.
Just babbling, but noticed you had no responses, so…here I am :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

2 Likes

I got the Ruger for Xmas last year. For a Full- size I love it. It fills its role perfectly -
Fast enough to penetrate yet light enough it won’t travel forever if you miss.
Same caliber as P(S)90 and now the P50 eases logistics in a SHTF scenario.

There was a recall for some early models due to the safety lever cracking internally but as far as I know that was limited & fixed. Ammo is coming down (relatively) again. Around $1/rd opposed to the $1.50 it had been. I’ve actually seen more 5.7 than 22wmr lately. My wife appreciates the lower recoil than her 9mm & 5.56. Waiting on the Rare Breed infringement to be resolved so we can drop the FRT in the Banshee.

1 Like