When did you learn to shoot?

Whether you grew up in a military family, hunting family, or a family without firearms, we all learned to shoot (or are learning now) at some point.

How long ago did you learn to shoot?

• Within the last year
  • 1-2 years ago
  • 3-5 years ago
  • 5-10 years ago
  • 10-20 years ago
  • 20+ years ago
  • I don’t remember a time when I didn’t know how to shoot

0 voters

How did you learn to shoot?

• Family member/Family Friend
  • Military/LEO
  • Formal instruction/classes
  • Self-taught
  • Other share your experience below

0 voters

Share your experiences below!

2 Likes

My grandfather was a retired drill sergeant so I should be allowed to check both “Family member/Family Friend” and “Military/LEO”.

3 Likes

My father was drill sergeant and then became a police officer after the military, he taught me how to be safe and taught me to shoot as well as the reasons of why you should always have a firearm with you no matter what.

1 Like

I learned how to shoot in High School.
We had shooting classes (sport rifle) and I attended Scout camp where everything was treated like a regular military (we even had a fight with local highlanders one night, thanks God without firearms :scream:)
Then for 20+ years I haven’t touched a firearm and started using it again 2 years ago.
These days it was for fun, now all is about self defense.

I didn’t really “learn to shoot” until I had been in the military for 10+ years. I joined in 85 and didn’t shoot in Boot Camp, it wasn’t until I got to the Boat and then had to qualify to stand Topside watch that I actually got ANY training on firearms and not much at that. I somehow got selected for the Navy Rifle Team in 88’ and then I learned a bit about positional shooting and had been doing a lot of personal IDPA/IPSC type shooting (Long before it was actually a thing but Red Dawn and similar thoughts were a real thing).