What Did Ammo Use To Cost?

Got back into shooting about a year ago after a long hiatus. I hear a lot about how high the cost of ammo is compared to just a few years back. I haven’t know anything other than $.30 per round 9mm or $.60 per round 5.56. So make me cry and tell me what ammo used to cost before prices surged.

3 Likes

Prices have more than tripled in the past 25 - 28 years. Used to pay about $250 for a 1000 rounds 5.56 now it’s over $650.

2 Likes

Google can help you.

2 Likes

If 30 cents/round of 9mm is all you know, you’re doing ok. You missed the peak when it was 80 cents to over $1 per round, and that’s if you could get it.

I started shooting way back in the 80s and my foggy memory recalls 5-7 cents was the norm. Although I learned to reload back then, it didn’t make financial sense to do it.

Here’s a site that tracks ammo prices, but only started in 2020.

2 Likes

I do remember when .410 was an affordable way to have some fun shooting. Now I’m more likely to see a unicorn than even find a box of .410.

3 Likes

Pre-plandemic, I was buying .357 mag for 17 dollars a box of 50, 45 acp was 12 bucks, and CCI Minimags were 6.99 per hundred. Oh, and a box of 12 gauge target loads was 4.99

3 Likes

Do you really want to cry? And my teen years I could buy 22 shorts for 50 cents a box of 100! Lol

4 Likes

I’m thrilled to pay 8.50 for target loads at the club.

2 Likes

I knew I’d regret asking :disappointed_relieved:

1 Like

Invest time and money in reloading tools.

I’ve heard people say it is not really that much cheaper.

2 Likes

2018/2019 - $175 for 1000 rds delivered.
2020/2021 - :face_with_symbols_over_mouth: (I don’t even want to remember the numbers)
Q1/Q2 2022 - $300 for 1000 rds delivered
Q3/Q4 2022 - 2023 - $225 for 1000 rds delivered

I’m still not happy, but I doubt the 9mm will ever go back below $200 :worried:

2 Likes

This is what I’ve seen around here

3 Likes