Train or Upgrade?

I have been shooting for 20 years in the military, but I’m new to concealed carry. I purchased a Ruger EC9S last year, and it is currently my EDC for about a year. However, I struggle with accuracy with this gun, and I have had a few maintenance issues with it as well. I also really dislike the sights on the EC9S.
I shoot my larger guns (Walther PPQ45, S&W M&P9 Compact) much better. If the situation permits, I plan to carry my M&P, but this is not always practical.
I’m thinking about upgrading to a Hellcat, P365, or Shield Plus, but also thought I may benefit from some training on shooting small pistols.
I understand the basics of marksmanship, and go to the range to practice every few weeks. I am all about training, but I’m not sure at this point if my struggles with this gun are about me or the gun.
Any thoughts?

5 Likes

Upgrade. I can’t say enough good things about the P365. Try it out at your local range.

5 Likes

My wife has an ec9s and loves it. The Shield Plus is very nice- my bro-in-law got one, but cant get mags. In my OPINION, the P365, Hellcat are over rated and too exspensive. The Taurus 2Gc/3Gc rates very well and are $100s of dollars cheaper.

1 Like

Or you could just start throwing rocks. Would be better than the Taurus.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback. My main complaints about the EC9S are the trigger reset and the sights. I rented a Shield 2.0 and Glock 43 prior to buying the EC9S, and liked the Shield better. Guess I should have bought the Shield….Lesson learned about “Try before you buy”
I’m not about bashing Taurus, because they make some good guns. I really like my TX-22 ( but not for CCW). Just want feedback about other small guns, sights, and training. I carry a small pistol for concealability , but also want to be able to shoot as accurately as I can.