too old to learn/school

58 and want to be a gunsmith, learn it all, or most… during the covid lock down, in Cali. i did the online gunsmith from Stratford carreer institution. got a diploma… didn’t get to work on any firearms… want to learn more and do for retirement. since i got injured at my job/carreer of 45 years in construction. cant do that anymore, no more ladders. and back surgery. but love shooting and cleaning firearms and taking apart to a point, need learn more. wanted to go to AGI gunsmithing school. but expensive, and my age. people think I’m crazy…wish i would of done when i was in my 20s.but i loved my construction carreer, and never thought it would end…

10 Likes

You and me both! I am 59 and I have gone and just been buying books, manuals, and You tube. It is not as fast learning as a class but, I am still learning.

5 Likes

Your never too old to learn. I got my BS at 47 and my MBA at 50. If I had any money (time) left on the GI bill I would get a PhD just because I could. I started gunsmithing seriously when I was about 22 building 1911’s. I would only charge the retail price for the parts I installed/fitted and the difference from my price was used to buy tools and parts for my sticks. The big pay off was the experience. I will tell you it is a sphincter tightening experience to take a file or saw to someone else’s $1000+ gun knowing there is no way in he!! that you can buy them a new one if you screw it up.

If you want to learn to smith pick a platform and learn it. AR’s are the hot ticket right now. Some folks like AK’s. Garands and M-14’s(M1A’s) are a rapidly dying art. 1911’s are always popular. Glocks are good to learn. Bolt guns are expensive to do with the precision required by folks today but adding sling swivels, mounting scopes and general maintenance will make you some $$$'s. AGI is nice for a broad spectrum but it’s like high school level. Lots of stuff you will never use and not deep enough to really get into it.