Starting Out Carrying

Hi all, I am new to CC and finally had my CCW come in so I am legal to CC. I just wanted to find out how other’s got started because of course, it can be slightly intimidating to go out into public with a firearm. I take the safety of others JUST shy of the safety of myself and my family. I would say the same amount of safety, but there won’t be much I can do for others if I get myself injured or worse. I am extremely determined to receive training and learn as much as possible for CC but with that, you must also practice.

Info for those wondering where I am at: Not new to firearms, newer handgun owner, and new to CC. I purchased a handgun after finding the one that fit me the best and my intended purpose, then researched and found a holster I think works best for my lifestyle, and purchased multiple gun belts to test including a NexBelt (which I love). I have broken down and cleaned my firearm and understand its workings along with any firearm owner, read the manual from the manufacturer, IN ITS ENTIRETY :slight_smile:

Here are a few questions I had for folks:

1. When you started carrying, did you go all-in or occasionally at first? (Carry every day? Carry unloaded at first? Carry Loaded? Carry Loaded but empty chamber? Carry Loaded with live chamber? In some places but not others [aside from obviously posted])

2. What made you most uncomfortable, if anything, when starting to carry? (Lack of training? What others might think? Will anybody see it? “What ifs”?)

3. What things did you do to overcome said obstacles?

4. What made you feel comfortable or what did you like about carrying at first?