Sighting with reading glasses

Honest question for y’all. I have fantastic vision past about 4 feet, but need readers for closer. A pistol at arms length and the sights are fuzzy - and if I’m wearing readers I can’t see anything down range. Any ideas?

2 Likes

I’m not a doctor, but consider no line bifocals. It may help.

1 Like

Progressive Bifocals is what you want, get eyes tested you may be a candidate for Cataract Surgery also.

1 Like

Check out this video and SSP Eyewear.

4 Likes

While I’m planning on the glasses with two Rx values , I have astigmatism. I have noticed my ability to focus on my front sight IS improving as I practice. But, when I’m tired, a set of small reading glasses which can fit under goggles in the lower half of my frames worked pretty good.

1 Like

@CHRIS4. Very very interesting Chris. I had a stagmatism in my younger years but in 1979 I was in a very serious car accident, keep in mind this was before seat belt laws and at that time you never had to have your lap belt buckled. Well back to this story, I had a head on collision with a semi truck who drove into my lane on a two lane road. Hit the inside windshield with my head then hit and actually bent the steering wheel like a pretzel and when I was released by the hospital 6 weeks later (back then hospitals and doctors actually cared more ) and insurance companies were not in such an all fired hurry to discharge someone well because of that accident and head trauma and surgery to put my brain back together my stagmatism went away and never returned.

2 Likes

I require bifocals. I find it hard to focus on both the front sight and the target anywhere beyond ten feet. I chose to tackle the problem with lasers. While zeroing is a chore, once I have finished I am both faster and more accurate. I trust Crimson Trace as much as the firearms they are mounted to.

2 Likes