shooting with bifocals

Does anyone have a tips for pistol shooting with bifocals? i am leaning toward a red dot but need to be able to shoot well with open sights. Age has it’s disadvantages

10 Likes

Transition lenses perhaps? I have a pair of those, use them on occasion driving, and there’s a sweet spot where the instruments and street signs are clear.
Edit…meant progressive, not transition…

6 Likes

There is a company that makes reverse bifocals!

5 Likes

I have been using bifocals since 2013, the only issue I ran into was I wanted the shorter lens size which affected my rifle scopes, no so much with pistols though. I recently picked up a SSMR920C which came with the optic cut so I may just end up going optic since I’m not getting any younger😀

3 Likes

My glasses are what they call progressives. Similar to bifocals except the different lenses blend together seamlessly (no line).

I can still use iron sights, but have a red dot on my EDC and my full size FN.
They do help acquire the target faster and better accuracy.

8 Likes

I too wear progressive lens. I have no problem using iron sights. I tried a red dot and did not really like it. I may to give it another try although.

5 Likes

I guess I’m a bit older school. If I wear my glasses I can see the target out there but not my sights, If I don’t wear my glasses the sights are clear but the target is just a blur. Maybe time for some of these new tech glasses…

5 Likes

Bifocal for your non-dominant eye. Regular lens for your dominant eye.

5 Likes

It takes time and lots of repetition to learn to use a pistol optic. A box of ammo and a rental gun won’t give you an honest picture of what a red dot sight can do. Best parts: both eyes open, fast target acquisition and distance accuracy.

3 Likes