Rioters outside your house

I would like some legal opinion on what one can do when rioters leave the street (on your property) and approach your home with bats and bricks, breaking windows and damaging your home. I live in a stand your ground, castle doctrine state.

The rioters are on your property, causing damage and potentially life threatening. What are the legal implications of sending buckshot their way?

If the rioters are starting fires, I think you have to shoot.

Would appreciate any thoughts.

18 Likes

@Reg I’m also In a stand your ground and castle state.
For the record I am not a lawyer. This is opinion.
If people are setting your house on fire while your in it, I would be defending as my life depended on it.
Busting your windows and doors with bats, I’d say defend as your life depended on it. I would say that because if there busting in the windows and doors with bats then they could be coming on to harm you.

I would say until they do something I wouldn’t react. Even though they don’t have the right to protest on your lawn, even if they have bats and chains, as long as they’re not doing anything I would just let it go. Technically you could call the police and tell them there are people with bats and chains on your front lawn protesting and threatening your life but until they make action I think that I would stand fast until they do something.

This is just my opinion

23 Likes

Welcome to the family @Reg glad you’re here! I would tag @MikeBKY for great legal advice as well. He’s a busy man, so be patient lol.
Otherwise I’m sure some links will pop up soon

4 Likes

That’s a tough call. would dial 911 just because & try to wait it out however anyone enters they will probally regret it.

8 Likes

Reg,

OK, first I am not a lawyer and all the regular blah blah disclaimers.

Tricky to answer. Statutory and case law in your state will be your best guide and even then its not a simple as “If they are doing A, I get to do B cuz the law says so”.