Pseudo Range

I’m an ex-Marine infantry officer (and I don’t want to hear any of the B.S. about Ex vs. former as I left it behind, OK?).

I’m proficient with firearms and was intent on helping a neighbor get in to the sport.

I’m proficient with chronographs and offered to go with my neighbor to the range, measure his MV and then generate, through external ballistics programs I own, some range, and sight adjustment tables (at present he prefers irons). My wife, also a member of USCCA logged on this site and looked up ranges which had rifle range distances greater than 100 yards. She found on about an hour away from our home and we drove out to evaluate the range.

It was a series of bulldozer cuts through nearby hills where a shooter could fire into a berm made by the bulldozer vs. a professional range. There were no benches. There were not overheads. There were no range officers. There were no range regulations. AND, THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO SUPERVISION OF THE SHOOTERS OF ANY FORM ALONG WITH NO SAFETY MEASURES AT ALL IF THERE WAS AN ACCIDENT.

The “range” was in the middle of nowhere Texas and their only claim to being a rifle or pistol range was a sign.

What the heck is USCCA allowing advertising of such obvious farces on their website? Is there absolutely no qualification procedure at all at USCCA for advertisers? Is paying an advertising fee all the qualifications that a farcical claim to be a rifle range requires in order to be published in the USCCA magazine or have a spot on the USCCA website?

That farce was a great place to get hurt or killed.

I’m thinking USCCA does no qualifying whatsoever for advertisers. I’m ashamed FOR you.

David W. Walters, Lorraine Dong (my wife) both long time members of USCCA.

2 Likes

Holy S, that’s entirely unacceptable!

@David670 - first, welcome to the community.

Are you willing to identify the range in the forums?

1 Like