Proper AIW technique?

See the 5.11 advertisement on page 8 of the current issue (February/March) issue of Concealed Carry magazine.

The fellow is lifting his cover garment with his shooting hand. Wouldn’t it be more efficient if he was lifting the cover garment with his left hand?

NOTE: I have no experience with Appendix carry.

I have started to appendix carry myself and position my firearm on my left being a left handed shooter. I practice uncovering with my right hand.

1 Like

Lifting the garment with non shooting hand is, for most people, more efficient… but, is it always possible?

With good training single hand draw is as fast as regular two handed technique.

I strongly recommend practicing one hand draw stroke. It doesn’t need to be super fast, but at least it’s a good to know how to do this. It may save your life one day.

2 Likes

I see what you mean regarding him lifting the garment with his shooting hand. It’s only a photo. I lift the garment with my non shooting hand.

6 Likes

Non-shooting hand - always. Objective is to entirely clear the garment from the “draw path”. This means pulling it up as high as your chin, if necessary, and keeping the garment and firearm as far from each other as practical. It takes practice, and should be mastered dry firing before using live ammo. “Slow is smooth, smooth is fast.”

4 Likes

I use Mike Seeklanders style of draw. It gives you two options grab your shirt with your strong hand and lift it up with your other strong hand and then grab your gun and pull it out or if you other strong hand is not available you slip your strong hand onto the gun after pulling your shirt up with your strong hand. Both hands move and work together your strong hand to grab the shirt and your other strong hand to pull it up. It works well when you are wearing a shirt that is difficult to grab.

2 Likes

:point_right: exactly.
This is not a draw technique.
Looks like brandishing to me… :joy: :joy: :joy:

7 Likes