North Carolina Carry confusion: Places with alcohol

https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/resources/ccw_reciprocity_map/nc-gun-laws/

In the above link, the following two statements seem to conflict:

WHERE CAN I CARRY A CONCEALED FIREARM IN NORTH CAROLINA?

• Carry in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes, unless posted and provided you do not consume any alcohol or have any alcohol in your system.

WHERE CAN’T I CARRY A CONCEALED FIREARM IN NORTH CAROLINA?

• Any place alcohol beverages are consumed (except by the owner or lessee of the premises or establishment), if posted, and if consuming or under the influence of controlled substances or alcohol.

By law, am I allowed to carry concealed in bars/restaurants (with a permit), provided I do not drink?

2 Likes

I am NOT a lawyer, (nor do I want to be, personally…) … so I will ask @MikeBKY to confirm…
But as I read it, they say exactly the same thing … I’ll boldface the points:

Can:
Carry in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol? Yes, unless posted and provided you do not consume any alcohol or have any alcohol in your system.

Can’t:
Any place alcohol beverages are consumed (except by the owner or lessee of the premises or establishment), if posted, and if consuming or under the influence of controlled substances or alcohol.

Sounds like the same set of rules to me, just once phrased as a positive and once phrased as a negative.

Thankfully we don’t have to worry about that in PA from a “letter of the law” standpoint… No enforcement of gun-free zones, carrying w/ alcohol discouraged but not illegal…

3 Likes

You need to look to the two statutes that address firearms, bars and alcohol.
G.S. § 14-415.11 prohibits carrying a firearm while consuming alcohol or while it is in your blood.