New Shooter: Target Feedback

If you’re new to shooting you might wonder how someone can look at a target and tell you what you’re doing wrong even without seeing you shoot.

As with anything that takes some skill – knitting, baking, woodworking, reloading ammo, or shooting – the more you do it, the more you see the patterns.

What are you seeing on your targets?

Share your latest target here and the Community will give you some suggestions.

You don’t have to be new to shooting to put a target up and get some feedback!

2 Likes

This is from my range day last Saturday. I’m very new to the AR platform (and rifles in general), and I really don’t know what I should be expecting. I suspect some of the shots to the right are due to me (not just the bullets) being buffeted by the wind.

62 gr 5.56 @ 100 yards. ~18mph wind from 8:00, 50 degrees Fahrenheit. 7000’ above sea level. Target division marks are 2" apart.

1 Like

This was the feedback I received from my friends. :wink:

This would have been more helpful when I was starting out.

6 Likes

Scope or irons? What distance are they zeroed for?

You’re not going to get THAT much movement even from a full value 2X wind, so you’re probably right you own some of the left right. As @45IPAC questions what type of sights are you using? A 4 MOA red dot 0X up to 3x “somewhere” in the middle of the target will net you a group similar to that. Irons will also buy that for you if you never shot them before. If you were adjusting your sights during the string all bets are off.

One other point that I seem to make once a quarter or so is that if it is a brand new tube (gun/barrel) you can expect to put 50+ rounds down the pipe before it starts to settle down and get accurate. That is ONLY if you DON’T CLEAN the barrel. Clean the bolt, clean the carrier, clean the outside just DON’T put anything in the bore. If you have to do SOMETHING pull a dry bore snake down the tube ONCE and be done with it. You can thank me later.