Legal question for CCP from NJ

I know this is a long shot, but here it goes.

I am a freelance wildlife technician operating as a sole-proprietor for my business. Part of my duties can sometimes require me to go deep into the woods at times with potentially dangerous animals, or confront poachers on private lands for the landowners I contract with. In order to provide those services without being defenseless I apply to jobs with my resume showing I have a non-resident CWP. Many states require you to be a resident of the state which you hold your CWP in order to be recognized as legally carrying. This is a problem for me because my home state (tax residence) is NJ which as we all know sucks for the second amendment. Last time I went to apply, when I was 21 and before I was operating as a wildlife technician, I was told by the lieutenant not to bother. He said, “if you are not a police officer, a judge, or a politician, you will be wasting your money” [some paraphrasing].

NJ is a may issue state which gives them discretion for granting permits. They are currently being sued by the NJ2AS for their constant denials of applications for people who meet those criteria they set for being granted a CWP, and furthermore for denying anyone who should otherwise be granted a permit based on a clean criminal record and no mental health issues.

My question is… given the fact that by not having a resident permit precludes me from working safely, or even being able to accept jobs in certain states period, should they deny me on my application stating “I do not show a justifying need”, would that be a strong case to present to the courts to sue the state?

3 Likes