Legal advice

Hi everyone, I’m new here I’ve been very passionate about my second amendment rights for a long time how ever I made a life changing mistake in my past that has been haunting me,long story short I caught a bad rap and before then I’ve never got into any trouble, I couldn’t afford a lawyer at the time and the public defender told me to plead guilty and my charge would drop to a misdemeanor, so I did and he lied I caught a felony charge back in 2004,I was placed on 3 years supervised probation and completed it successfully, I currently work for the State of Louisiana Dept of transportation as a Highway Foreman and my wife and I have to daughters we are raising and we’re very active in our Church, but money is tight I’ve been praying that I can find someone to help me get my record expunged and get my gun rights restored, it’s been 13 years and I can legally possess a gun in Louisiana any advise or help would be very appreciated, thanks

2 Likes
1 Like

I’m not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV. But I think in Louisiana you get your rights back after 10 years. Then you apply to the different municipalities involved, pay a fee and get your rights restored and your record expunged.

Maybe use the find an attorney app on the USCCA page and ask them for advice.

3 Likes

I’ve been doing as much research as I can thank you very much I really appreciate it

1 Like

YEA! Another Louisianian!

What parts you from or live @ anyway?

I’m in Shreveport!

1 Like

This is not legal advise:

I’m sorry for what you’re having to deal with! May I ask what type of felony?

Now, I’m nearing law-school to practice law in Louisiana with this said, I’m familiar with portions of law and you might be in luck today.

FIRST: Always hire an experienced attorney here in Louisiana…