Houston TX jury dismisses murder charge against shoplifter

Ah, fresh new definitions of “self defense” and “not guilty”.

6 Likes

Time to leave Houston.

4 Likes

So…self defense not stuff defense.

Don’t risk your life (and freedom) over a couple shoplifted items.

Lethal force is pretty much not justified to get back a couple candy bars or whatever was shoplifted from the store. I am not a lawyer, but…it’s not.

Don’t follow and chase people down with your gun because they shoplifted. [edit: dont’ chase them down at all over this]

No indication here on who fired first, who pointed gun first, but…the confrontation never needed to happen. They shoplifted something off a convenience store/gas station shelf…don’t chase them down

5 Likes

Like our CCW Course instructor said
“If you take anything away from this course, take this, We protect Lives not Stuff”

7 Likes

No argument! However, I am shocked at the verdict. The armed robbery and murder are obvious.What’s going on…

Where is there an armed robbery??

I saw a video where they simply pulled items off the shelf, attempted to do so without being seen, and then walked out.

Robbery requires threat or use of force…stealthy theft is not robbery.

And, was it murder? What happened when the two met and shots were fired? I’m not a lawyer, but, let’s say the clerk threatened to shoot/kill the teens unless they returned the candy bars…I don’t think that’s murder I think that’s self defense…there’s no justification to threaten to kill someone because they stole a candy bar.

Sure, it’s illegal to steal, and sure, they seem to have been carrying illegally, but…in what way is armed robbery or murder obvious?

Armed robbers vote for team blue.

1 Like

The clerk had a gun? That is not in the article.

Theft + altercation began in the store + armed = armed robbery

1 Like

What was the altercation in the store?

The video doesn’t show that. Doesn’t mean it didn’t happen though…