Gun for Arthritic Thumbs

Hello, I am a complete newbie, senior and have some thumb-arthritis in my right hand which is causing issues with operating the slide lock, etc. I am currently in training (one-on-one) with an instructor and we have tried the S&W 380 EZ and Sig Sauer P365-380. I really like the EZ, but getting enough ‘umph’ on the grip safety is sometimes (not always) an issue. The Sig is nice, but I am having issues getting my largish hands wrapped around the shorter grip. Shooting 9mm and the resultant recoil adds to my hand issues, so that’s out. Any suggestions of what else to try (automatic or pistol)? Thanks - JJ

3 Likes

Welcome

3 Likes

See if you can try out a Walther PDP F-series. Might not fit the lagish hands part as well, but it’s not tiny, is easier to operate than most, and does not have a grip safety

6 Likes

Hello and welcome to our group. I have some hand arthritis issues, and my wife has very small hands with not a lot of grip strength. She had bought the 380EZ thinking it was for her, but found that reaching the slide lock and even holding it properly were issues. She had tried quite a few semi autos and finally gave up on all of them, settling on a Smith and Wesson 43c 22LR, 8 shot revolver. In the “new guns” thread another member did the exact same steps (380EZ to 43C).

For me, I like shooting the EZ, as it’s got a great trigger and recoil is minimal.

I’ve seen people on line struggle with the grip safety, and put a rubber band on it. Don’t do that, if you do end up getting one. The EZ/Equalizer line are all hammer fired guns carried condition one (i.e. “cocked and locked” with a round in the chamber). The grip safety puts a hammer block between the hammer and the firing pin, and serves as the drop safety.