Glock Reliability

I am a USCCA Instructor, retired LEO and have been through Glock armorer school. Despite all of that, I am ambivalent towards Glocks as I have become a CZ fanatic.
One fact I cannot avoid though is the utter reliability of Glocks. I took a fellow instructors gun home so I could clean it for him and that led to me doing an armorer tear down. This gun had excess oil and an ungodly amount of carbon buildup inside. Additionally, it had a large amount of brass shavings in the firing pin channel. This build up may have disabled a lesser gun, but not this gun. The Glock was still running like a champ and now it will remain so for at least another 5000 rounds when I do its next tear down.

10 Likes

Being an M&P guy, I didn’t understand till recently how easy it was to remove all the parts from a Glock slide and deep clean it. I thought people were crazy when they said they did that every year.

I love my M&Ps but getting the firing pin block out requires removing the rear sights, and getting the extractor out requires a punch. All of which voids the S&W Warranty of course.

1 Like

It looks like it was never cleaned!

1 Like

It was field stripped, but never armorer stripped like I just did.

2 Likes

This is why I have been using Glocks since 1993, I have used many many brands and models of handgun, but I have always had a Glock to rely on.

I have several models that are around the 100,000rd mark as well as 1 of my 1911’s but that is a hand built custom. I had the pleasure of being a sponsored shooter for almost a decade and relied on Glock to gain my GM ranking. I know alot of people like to say they are ugly, feel like a brick and other things. That’s OK as I buy and use my equipment to be reliable and durable, not look pretty.

9 Likes

Glocks are the Energizer Bunny of the Firearms world… they keep going and going and going

5 Likes