El Paso Shooting

Once again a crazy has taken the lives of innocence people and put our 2A rights in jeopardy. What can we, as law abiding gun owners do to help stop this craziness?

4 Likes

another young shooter… maybe the problem sits in education?

4 Likes

I’m unsure of your meaning but, as a teacher I can assure you we don’t teach kids to become mass killers. However, I have observed that today’s parents are adamantly opposed to their little angels suffering consequences for their actions. Maybe the problem is in parenting.

24 Likes

Education and values…

7 Likes

@Michael7, maybe I used wrong word, but what I meant is “family education”. I’m sure teachers are far away of teaching such things like killing.
As a father of 2 boys I do have a responsibility to educate / teach them to be good and valuable people, rise them to be a good father for their children and good citizen to live in community.
My kids had never touched any firearm till the moment I knew they are responsible enough. Now they both have permits, but surprisingly they don’t want to carry. They know how to avoid, be defensive, not get into any trouble.
I see dozen of young people who want to be a “cool guy”. They are angry, irritated or upset. Sometimes it is hard to even talk to them… I do not see such things with people in theirs 40s or more…
I don’t know, I’m not a psychologist, do not even want to be one…

9 Likes

I listened to this on audiobook recently, it has some very surprising insights on why kids become killers. Very worth reading if you are in a position to interact with children.
Why Kids Kill: Inside the Minds of School Shooters

ETA: while 21 isn’t a child, I think this issue doesn’t start when they are adults and it needs to be addressed much earlier.

7 Likes