Edc knife for self-defense

I notice many men carry a knife as part of their self-defense every day carry kit. Is it simply an accessory that makes you feel more manly?

Do you have formal training in knife fighting and can actually use a knife in a rough and tumble street fight?

Which is it?

6 Likes

Here we go. :rofl:

20 Likes

In business/street clothes, I have carried the same locking drop point folder on my belt for 40 years. Although I have some long-ago background in fencing, I don’t really consider the knife a weapon. It’s a versatile cutting tool I use on a nearly daily basis. In extremis, it might be something of a last ditch fighting tool, but more of a general survival tool.

In outdoors/fieldwork, I have carried a Victorinox Tinker for about the same period of time. They seem to walk away from me every 5-10 years, so today’s knife is not the original. Same basic use profile. Much less potential as a weapon; more versatile as a tool than just a blade.

17 Likes

Yardwork!

10 Likes

I have carried a pocket knife since I was a teenager in the early 1970s. It is not

…Please.

My knife is not a weapon, it’s a tool. I have a need for an edged blade multiple times every day.

18 Likes

How so?

1 Like
  • Cutting string, twine, rope, thread, etc.
  • Opening mail
  • Opening a package
  • Breaking down a box
  • Charcuterie
  • Trimming a hangnail
  • Sizing paper lamination material
  • Trimming documents to fit into sheet protectors

…and that list is just from looking around my office at lunch time.

24 Likes

26 Likes

I have also been carrying a folding knife since my teenage years. It is primarily a utility tool that I use almost every day.

There are however places were I cannot carry a firearm and situations I could see where I could not get to my firearm if I was. So I would like to get some good knife training some day above and beyond the couple of videos, articles and practice sessions I have tried.