Drinking while camping and carrying

Of course everyone enjoys a cold one camping…how does this affect your carrying?

3 Likes

I do not drink or smoke anyone’s lawn, so it is not an issue for me. HOWEVER, that being said, I do not think a cold beer or two would be a problem or make one problematic for most people.

7 Likes

I am not a lawyer but, I played a judge on T.V. once! So, An individual shall not carry a concealed pistol or portable device that uses electro-muscular disruption (EMD) technology while under the influence of alcoholic liquor or a controlled substance or while having a bodily alcohol content of .02 BAC or above.

5 Likes

That may be what a beer or less?

3 Likes

6 Likes

Sorry to be the wet blanket, but I choose one: alcohol or carry. Never both. Alcohol and firearms never mix.

14 Likes

I would call that Responsibility.

5 Likes

This is the ONLY option while carrying the firearm:

Remaining part of the table DOES NOT apply.

8 Likes

By this and my weight (144 lbs - 5’9"), it’s good I don’t drink and carry. 1 beer I would be done, plus 1 beer would put me to sleep.

3 Likes

I drink more Nyquil than that at night !!

3 Likes

I think this question needs clarification. State law may be determinative of whether you possess alcohol and a firearm at the same time. Kentucky has no such law. However, alcohol intoxication and in possession of a firearm can lead to wanton endangerment charges if an issue arises with the firearm. Having a firearm and being in possession of any non-prescribed controlled substance is a felony in Kentucky.

I am in full agreement that you should not carry while impaired. I don’t know that would prohibit having a weapon on a camping trip and having any alcoholic beverages while the firearm is secured and not on your persons or remaining within your personal limits so you are not impaired. Again, state law may play a part in this equation.

9 Likes